Those accused of sex crimes in New Jersey face serious potential consequences, such as imprisonment, fines and conviction in the court of public opinion. Those convicted of New Jersey sex crimes in a court of law will likely have difficulty securing housing or getting a job in the future and in most cases, will be required to register as a sex offender under Megan’s Law. Megan’s Law requires those convicted of certain sex crimes to regularly report personal information such as their address and places of employment to police and the public for 15 or 25 years. Some offenders may even be subject to lifetime registration.
If you are facing sex charges, it is imperative that you contact a skilled criminal lawyer who can explain your options going forward and provide you with an aggressive criminal defense. The Camden County criminal defense legal team at the Law Offices of Thomas J. Gosse is experienced in fighting all types of New Jersey sex crime charges. Types of sex crime cases we have handled include:
Rape is defined as the penetration, no matter how slight, in which physical coercion is used or in which the victim is physically or mentally incapacitated. Depending on the circumstances of the case, those convicted of rape may be subject to five to 20 years in prison, mandatory sex offender registration and mandatory electronic monitoring.
In New Jersey, the age of consent is 16 years old, meaning that anyone under the age of 16 is not considered legally old enough to consent to sexual activity. Those convicted of statutory rape face various criminal penalties depending on the victim’s age and other circumstances of the offense. Mistake of age is not a valid legal defense in New Jersey, however a close in age exemption, also called the “Romeo and Juliet” exception, may apply to situations in which consensual sex occurs between a minor at least 13 years old and someone fewer than four years older.
Sexual assault involves sexual contact between a minor, less than 13 years old and someone at least four years older, or sexual penetration between a minor 13 to 16 years old and someone at least four years older. A conviction for sexual assault may carry punishments of up to ten years’ imprisonment and mandatory sex offender registration.
If the victim is less than 13 years old, or if other factors exist such as the use of a weapon or the mental incapacitation of the victim, the perpetrator may be charged with aggravated sexual assault. A conviction for aggravated sexual assault may result in a prison sentence of up to 20 years and mandatory sex offender registration.
Internet sex crimes include solicitation for sex or sexual acts with minors, sexting, producing, trading or selling child pornography and falsifying information to commit a sex crime. This type of crime may be prosecuted under state and federal law and can carry a sentence of up to 30 years in prison and mandatory sex offender registration, even for first-time offenders.
Prostitution is defined as the offer or acceptance to engage in sexual activity in exchange for money or property of economic value. Depending on whether it is a first or subsequent offense, conviction for this crime may result in fines of up to $10,000 and 18 months in prison. Additional penalties may be imposed if the crime involved a minor.
At the Law Offices of Thomas J. Gosse, we are knowledgeable about all sex crimes and can help defend your rights, whatever charges you are facing. There are many other sex crime charges in New Jersey, including:
If you have been charged with a sex crime, contact a Camden County criminal lawyer at the Law Offices of Thomas J. Gosse. Our skilled legal team will investigate the allegations against you, negotiate with the prosecution to reduce or drop your charges, argue for pre-trial intervention or a court-supervised program when appropriate, and provide you with an aggressive defense in court. We represent those facing sex crime charges throughout South Jersey from our office in Haddon Heights, New Jersey. To schedule a confidential consultation, submit an online contact form or call us at 856-546-6600 or toll-free at 800-989-1575.