What to Do If You Are Accused of Sexual Misconduct
August 13, 2018
In New Jersey, those accused of sexual assault face severe penalties, including possible jail time and registering as a sex offender. If you are accused of sexual misconduct, it is important to know the difference between sexual harassment and sexual assault, understand the laws as they apply to both, and contact an experienced Camden County sex crimes attorney for sound legal advice.
The New Jersey Law Against Discrimination prohibits severe or pervasive sexual harassment in the workplace. Sexual harassment is the most common form of workplace harassment and has recently been in the news with the MeToo movement. Both men and women have come forward to share their experiences of being verbally and physically harassed by others in positions of power.
Sexual harassment takes many forms, such as:
- Inappropriate gift-giving: Unwanted sexual gifts from colleagues
- Physical harassment: Unwelcome contact that includes invading one’s personal space
- Request for dates: Unwanted or repeated requests for dates, even after you have declined
- Sexist remarks: Disparaging comments about women
- Sexual coercion: Threatening or pressuring someone into sexual favors
- Sexually suggestive pictorials: This can include texts, e-mails, and social media posts
- Sexual orientation harassment: This is based on a person’s gender identity or sexuality
- Unwelcome sexual advances: Come-ons and requests for sexual favors
How the Law Defines Sexual Assault
In New Jersey, sexual assault is the legal term that refers to rape. Sexual assault is a severe form of harassment that is punishable by law. Sexual laws cover different degrees of sexual contact and intimidation or force. Sexual assault involves sexual penetration with an underage victim who is under your control in some capacity. When the victim is a family member who is younger than age 13, incapacitated, or the assault involves a weapon or another crime, it may be considered aggravated sexual assault.
Punishment for sexual assault depends on the crime but is considered a second degree crime with a maximum of 10 years in prison. Aggravated sexual assault is a first degree crime, punishable by up to 20 years in prison. In most cases, a person convicted of sexual assault is required to register as a sex offender.
Camden County Sex Crimes Lawyer at the Law Office of Thomas J. Gossé Represents Those Accused of Sex Crimes in New Jersey
Conviction for a sex crime can have devastating ramifications for the rest of your life. At the Law Office of Thomas J. Gosse, our Camden County sex crimes lawyer has extensive criminal defense experience fighting all types of sex crimes cases. If you have been accused of rape, statutory rape, sexual assault, aggravated sexual assault, or internet sex crimes, smart legal counsel is incredibly important. To schedule a discreet and confidential consultation with a Camden County sex crimes lawyer, call 856-546-6600 or contact us online today.